

Republic of the Philippines

Department of Education

REGION VII - CENTRAL VISAYAS

Division of Cebu Province

Office of the Schools Division Superintendent

November 22, 2023

DIVISION MEMORANDUM No. 505, s. 2023

AREA LEVEL SCHOOLS PRESS CONFERENCE 2023

- To: Assistant Schools Division Superintendents Chiefs, CID and SGOD Public Schools District Supervisors Public Elementary and Secondary School Heads All Others Concerned
 - 1. This Office announces the conduct of the AREA LEVEL SCHOOLS PRESS CONFERENCE at designated dates and venues specified hereunder:

Date	Area	Venue
November 26-28,2023	Southeast	Municipality of Sibonga
November 29-December 1, 2023	Southwest	Municipality of Barili
	Northwest	Municipality of Daanbantayan
December 7-9,2023	Northeast	Municipality of Cordova

2. This conference aims to:

a. enhance journalistic competence through healthy and friendly competitions;
b. promote 21st Century Campus Journalism in upholding good governance,
leadership and transparency; and
c. select the Area representatives for the 2023 Division Schools Press Conference.

- 3. Participants in this forum include pupils, student writers from both public and private elementary and secondary schools, SPA/coaches as well as the Technical Working Group (TWG).
- 4. There will only be three student and pupil writers who are allowed to join from each district in every category.
- 5. Teacher-advisers or coaches who will join are limited to two per school only regardless of the number of campus writers being registered in a school.
- 6. The top ten winners in the individual writing categories and the top five winners in group competitions such as Radio Broadcasting, Lay outing, Mobile Journalism, School Paper winners, and the top three winners of Mr. and Ms. Area Press Con will qualify for the 2023 Division Schools Press Conference that will take place on December 16-18, 2023, in the Municipality of Argao.

· 4.2

- 7. Participants are required to bring the following items:
 - a. Copy of the latest school paper
 - b. Parent's permit/Medical Certificate
 - c. School ID

E.

- d. Beddings, food, and cooking gadgets
- e. School banner
- 8. The submission of school publication/newsletter, billeting of participants, registration, and gadget checking are scheduled to commence on Day 1 from 8:00 am to 10:00 am.
- 9. To guarantee the seamless execution of this conference, a meeting will be convened on Day 0, bringing together all members of the Division Technical Working Group (TWG), Elementary and Secondary School Heads, as well as committee chairs and members. For further information, please refer to the attached sheets of the members of the TWG
- 10. Public Schools District Supervisors of the designated venues/billeting quarters must ensure that learning will still be in force such that provision of blended learning modality be utilized.
- 11. The mechanics and guidelines for the individual and group contests stipulated in DepEd Memorandum No. 24, s. 2023, shall be adhered to.
- 12. To defray the expenses of speakers' honoraria, food and snacks for three days in each area conduct including PMT/TWG, contest materials, medals, trophies, and certificates, a registration fee of Php150.00 is charged to the Campus Paper Adviser/Coach and Campus Journalist. This fee is chargeable against the **Campus Journalism Fund, SEF, and PTA Funds,** subject to availability, and the usual accounting and auditing rules and regulations.
- 13. Participants attending the said activity on weekends shall be granted service credits/ Compensatory Time-Off (CTO) pursuant to the guidelines specified in DepEd Order No. 53, s. 2023 (Updated Guidelines on Grant of Vacation Service Credit of Teachers) per CSC-DBM Joint Circular No. 2, s. 2002 (Non-Monetary Remuneration for Over Time Services).
- 14. This Memorandum serves as Authority to Travel.
- 15. Immediate dissemination of this Memorandum is desired.

SENEN PRISCILO P. PAULIN, CESO,V Schools Division Superintendent

MSA/LMD/FCL/SGOD/VAY/lgm2023

Committee	Chair	Member
Budget and Finance	Abegail Villamor	Joselito Tagalog
Opening and Closing Programs/ Mr and Ms	Stella Maris Veloso	Mesias Alinsunod
Area Schools Press Con	Diana Costaños	Gualberto Otadoy
Certificates and Awards		······································
Secretariat	Blesilda Pitogo	Joefe Ilustrisimo
Documentation	Rodulfo Capangpangan	Wilmar Lawas
Billeting/ Contest Venue	Adriana Sagayno	
Contest Administrator and	Charmie Pontemayor	Jessica Lagahid
Proctor		
Contest Materials	Maricel Sabandal	Ronald Panugaling
Reception/Accommodation	Karen Cristy Berjame	
Food	Virginia Zamora	Victoria Legaspina
Liturgy/Worship	Ronald Panugaling	
Announcers	Louie Marie Rose	
	Narvasa	

PMT/ TWG Members with Assigned Committee

I